• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Responsible but Confused Dad

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jackjoy

I am a resident of CA. I have a 3 yr old son but I am not married to his mother. Since my son's birth I have paid child support to his mother in addition to incurring independent costs for his support. Since his birth I have been a full-time student, so my income has been limited. Nevertheless, for the first year of my son's life, I paid $200 per month. The second year $400, and now in his 3rd year I have been paying $600 per month. These amounts do not include additional expenses I incur on a monthly basis for various things: entertainment, clothing, food, etc. I have no formal agreement with his mother. I have never missed a payment. However, because I have limited income, I have been forced to supplement his support with my financial aid. This is putting a lot of pressure on me--particularly because of the interest I accrue on these funds, which raises the total value of payments I have been making.

My issue is this: how do I know that the amount of my payments to his mother is reasonable? How can I protect myself to ensure I continue to enjoy visitation rights? What if I have to reduce my monthly payments?

Currently, I see my son about twice a week. I have always held him out to my family, friends, etc. as my son. My name is on his birth certificate and he shares my last name.

Recently, I have had some friction with his mother. I am concerned that she will use our son as leverage to increase support payments.

Any advice would be appreciated.

crystaly

jackjoy said: