• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

"Employment at will" and Religion

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Samman

What is the name of your state--->Colorado. Yesterday, my boss gave out an invitation to a religious lunch meeting in the conference room. I chose not to go and now my boss will not talk to me. After the meeting, he handed out an "Employment at will" form which he wants me to sign that states that I can be fired without reason. While I know that he cannot fire me for religious reasons, do I have to sign the form? I have been working for the company for 2 years now and all of a sudden he prompts this form on me. It may be coincidence that the form appeared on this day but I am not sure. Do I have to wait until he fires me for no reason to go after him for a civil rights violation? How difficult is it to pursue such a case? Also, can his religious meetings, which he will hold for the next 9 weeks, be considered harassment? Thanks in advanced!

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

Samman said: