• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Starting all over again............

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

martin5475

What is the name of your state?Ohio I am divorcing my abusive husband of 29 years. There are three children still at home. His income is around $30k a year. How much spousal support/alimony can I expect to get and for how long? I was a teacher, but stayed home to raise my kids and am also homeschooling them. I found out that I need to go back to college for 12 semester hours in order to be re-certified as a teacher. So I am wondering how long that will take if I am able to only work part time while I am also a student. The support will help me determine what I need to do- go back to school or find an hourly position. Is that also taken out in wage garnishments or does he pay directly? Our house and everything will be sold because we also have to declare bankruptcy. So I will basically have no assets at all except my old car......Thanks for the advice.

nextwife

After CS for three kids is taken out, I can't imagine how there could be much left for spousal support on a $30,000 year income. Odds are, it was barely enough to support all of you in ONE household. Now there will be two households. Whatever is left for spousal support is going to be minimal, so you will likely need to suppliment it with your own income.

LdiJ

martin5475 said: