• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Adoption / Cs

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

WHAT?

This might be very confusing and sound really stupid to a lot of people but here goes:

* My EX and I were married in April 2003.
* She has 3 children.
* Shortly before we got married the father of the children signed over rights of the children to me. I legally adopted them.
* When we got married I was a consultant for a major firm. I made around 875,000 a year.
* In June 2003 I was on a business trip for my firm. The driver fell asleep at the wheel and crashed. I received extensive brain damage, hearing in 1 ear and my left leg from the thigh down, with extensive nerve damage all over my body. I have involuntary spasms in my arms and leg to this day.
* 3 Weeks after I got released from the hospital my (then) wife approached me with a lawyer standing next to her. She said that she could not be with me anymore because of my new condition.
* I agreed to the divorce and did not fight it in any way. I agreed to the child support only to ensure that the children would be taken care of. I bought her a moderate (450,000) 4 bedroom house and furnished it but I refused to pay alimony or any part of the estate. I told her that it was her own selfishness that was causing the divorce. I think that she decided to not fight it because she knew what kind of money I had and what kind of lawyers I could get with my money. I send her 4000 a month in CS (the kids go to a private school). I know that I do not have to send that much but the children became accustomed to this type of lifestyle and I don't see why they can't stay in it as long as I can afford it.