• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Permentent Alimony since 1991

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

usmcret0369

Permenent Alimony since 1991 (NC) Need Help!

What is the name of your state? North Carolina, Onslow County
I hope someone can give me some sound legal advice.
I have been paying Court Ordered Alimony since 1991 at $200.00 per month.
The Alimony was Ordered to be paid to the Recipient until "Death of the Recipient." :mad:
I also was ordered to pay Child Support at that time until the children met the Statute guidelines under the laws of NC. That order was vacated last year when the youngest of the two minor children graduated from High School.
I still however pay Alimony in accordance with the 1991 Divorce Decree.
Currently, I earn $1200 per month and my new spouse earns approx. $2500 per month. We are also home owners. I have no 401K or Savings as it was depleted over the years in order to pay the Child Support.
My former spouse has a late model car, no minor children residing with her, earns approx. $15,000 per year and last year purchased a home valued at $70,000. My Son told me she used $10,000 from her 401K to pay the down payment on her home. She has not remarried and although I have heard she has a male friend I do not know if she is co-habitating, although I do know that cohabitation would be grounds to cease the Alimony payments.
I might add I was represented by Counsel at the time of the Divorce. He is now retired.