• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Change of Circumstance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rodman06

What is the name of your state? Florida :
Sorry about the long background, but I have to set the stage for my question. I have been paying $1,100/mo alimony since 02/1993 through 11/2004, and carry a $100,000 insurance policy with my ex-wife as my beneficiary($2,500/year). I lost my job in July 2002 and since then I have been trying to start my own business and also looking for a job, with no success. I have not had any income since 8/2002.
I am almost 60 years old and have a heart condition (implanted defibrillator), and a total knee replacement. In all this time I have basically depleted my life savings to the point where I have nothing in the bank, and owe a substantial amount of money to a lot of people including the IRS. I am remarried and own a home.
My ex-wife, thru her attorney, is demanding payment, partial payments, and interest for the amount I owe, and suggesting I mortgage my house to pay for all of this. I replied that I would pay the moment I am able and that I would also include any back pay I owe, but they want some now and for me to promise when I can start paying in full, which I can't promise. Our children are grown and out of the house. I will not be able to pay anything under any circumstances right now anyway.
What I want to do is file for a Change of Circumstance and stop the entire process. What are my chances? Anybody experience something like this?

BelizeBreeze

If you have a home that can be refinanced, then your chances are next to NULL.

You have an obligation. Pay it or face the consequences.

LdiJ

BelizeBreeze said: