• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

non married fathers rights

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mengelder

What is the name of your state? Texas, Hi I am a married man of 18 years 4 years ago I had a brief fling with a married women.One month later she told me she was pregnant I did not leave my wife and chose to stay in my marriage, she then stayed in her marriage had the baby and told her husband it was his baby he has no idea about her infidelity. My wife knew of the affair 4 years ago but I just told her about the child.I have been sending the mother support for the past 4 years during that time she asked me not to tell my wife and her husband is in the dark and has been paying all cost of raising this child he does not know I send money to her for my son. My question is now that my wife knows we want to know what my rights are as the biological father my wife will accept the child and we would like to have visitation rights. We have ASKED THE MOTHER TO TELL HER HUSBAND THE CHILD IS NOT HIS and then proceed with a paternity test. If i can show throught my financial records I have been sending support for he past 4 years will this help in my case? Thank you so much mengelder

JETX

mengelder said:
now that my wife knows we want to know what my rights are as the biological father my wife will accept the child and we would like to have visitation rights.
Marriage or lack of has absolutely NOTHING to do with your parental rights.

We have ASKED THE MOTHER TO TELL HER HUSBAND THE CHILD IS NOT HIS and then proceed with a paternity test.