• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

wal-mart shop lifting

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

law40177

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Arkansas

i need to know what all can happen to me im a 19 year old male this is my first time offense i was caught shop lifting in wal-mart. what i stole was a bottle of diet pills i have always been a llittle heavy and i saw these new pills and they looked real interesting. so i opend the bottle and put them into my pocket and proceded to finish my shopping i dont know why i just stole them i could of payed for them but i guess really i was just being plain stupid becasue i didnt want to pay for somthing if it didnt work. well they stopped me after i purchased my things and the guy was real nice he asked to to follow him i did we went to the back room wear i sighned many different types of papers and waited for the police to come the police officer took me to the sherif department and issued me a ticket to appear in court but they also fingerprinted me and everything. so i was wondering what are my options when i go to court i know i will have to pay a civial payment and the cost of the pills that were $29 but if they say probation is their a way i can keep off of prbation and do somthing else instead and is their a way to get this off of my record becasue what i did was just plain stupid on my part but i dont want it to affect my future becasue this is my first offense. someone please help

They may have a shoplifting diversion program..... Hopefully this is a wake up call.