• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Grandmother trying to influence Child negatively

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

smoove01

What is the name of your state? Maryland

Hello
I am a single father of a 10 year old daughter. I have been raising her since 1999 when her mother died. I live in Maryland. Let me start from the beginning. My daughter's mother died in July of 1998 in Maryland. We were living together in an apartment. When my daughter's mother died, the grandmother had an issue with my daughter staying in Maryland. She voiced her opinion briefly but I did not take it seriously. The funeral for my daughter's mother was in Maine where she is originally from. The grandmother asked me before I went to Maine for the funeral if my daughter could stay in Maine for the remainder of the summer of 98 until pre-school start. I was a little reluctant but I agreed anyway. My daughter never made it back to Maryland that year. Her grandmother filed false charges against me in the State of Maine to take my daughter away from me. I had to go thru a whole year of court proceeding going back and forth to the state of Maine from Maryland. After trying everything in her power to take my daughter but nothing seem to work, the grandmother dropped the case she drawn against me and asked for grandparents visitation rights. The Grandparents visitation rights order was a little unfair but I still agreed. Present day 2005. It has been very difficult dealing with the grandmother. The grandmother tries to make derogatory remarks and tries to give my daughter a negative image of me. She tries to challenge my authority of my daughter. Asking my daughter about my personal life. Physically or