• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mock Trial for School

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jumper2win

What is the name of your state? Connecticut

Hey everyone,
I am new here and I would love help. For school I am a lawyer for this mock trial. Now the case is as follows. A man, Joe, comes home from work, tired and disgruntled. He walks into his house and hears screaming from his wife upstairs. Without even thinking, he dashes upstairs and sees another man in the bed with his wife. Joe reacting quickly grabs a gun that happens to be on his mantle next to the door and shoots the other man. The other man, Mike, gets shot but survives. I am on the prosecution which is Mike's side. Mike is sueing Joe for attempted Murder. Now here is the tricky part. Joe and his wife Betty say that Mike raped Betty. However, that is not the case. Betty and Mike were having an affair and here are the witnesses. There is the next door neighbor who has seen Betty and Mike walk in and out of the house time and again. There is the cafe owner who has seen Betty and Mike come in more than once. There is a little more to it but I cannot think of it now...sorry.

Now my first question is, can Mike sue Joe for attempted Murder. (I hope he can or this trial will not work) If he can't then what can he sue Joe for.

Second, as the defense how can I defend Mike from this?

Lastly, any other input on this situation would be great. Thanks for everyone's help. :)

racer72