• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

She's nothing but a Rich and Snotty Thief

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ArtistRights

What is the name of your state? Alabama

I am a self employed artist.

A lady, who is an attorney, contacted me. She wanted to sell some of my art, play the middle man. She would receive a commission. She also wanted to show samples of my work. I loaned her five "Show Pieces" with the understanding that they were for 'show' purposes only and not for sale. There was no written contract, only verbal.

Now, not only will she NOT return my art, but says I owed her money because I wasn't punctual for meetings, and I wasted her time. She further explained that she was going to tally up and subtract what she thinks my art is worth and send me a bill for the rest. She told me never to call her again and if I didn't like it, I needed to hire an attorney.

She knows I can't afford an attorney. I honestly thought she would return my art, but I realize she isn't. I'm beginning to think, she's hoping too much time will pass and I won't be allowed to do anything legally. If I file charges against her, I have a feeling she will sue me for malicious prosecution, or something worse, if I contact the police. She said she has "friends in high places" and she "knows the ins and outs of the law."

I've allowed her to intimidate me - all I want is my artwork back. Please advise?

Last edited:

S

seniorjudge

ArtistRights said:
What is the name of your state? Alabama

I am a self employed artist. I have a question concerning my artwork.