• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

can a permanent resident open a business

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mast

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? - Ohio

I am a permanent resident who plans to open a small business in the US. I was told that i need to be a citizen in order to do so. Is it true?
thanks

bspencer

Go for it!

When It comes to opening a small business, it depends on the type of business you want to open, and if it operates acrosss state lines, as to where the regulations lie.

To my understanding, if you are eligable for employment in the US, you should be eligable for small business ownership.
For Taxing purposes, you must have a social-security number or equivalent so that the business will be taxed correctly.

I am assuming since you refer to opening a small business, you will be operating primarily in ohio. If this is the case, you should contact your secretary of state for clarification if you are eligable. if the secretary of state aknowledges your business entity, then for all legal purposes, that business entity exists.

I have included the phone number to the secretary of state as well as the e-mail address to contact them.

614-466-3910
[email protected]

Good luck in forming your business!

PS, Here's a statement from the Secretary of State's Duties

Granting Authority to Do Business in Ohio
The Business Services Division receives and approves articles of incorporation for Ohio corporations and grants licenses to out-of-state corporations seeking to do business in Ohio. Limited partnerships and limited liability companies also file with this office.