• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Splitting a deed question.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mpdsville1

NY State, Schenectady Co.
I (and citibank) have two adjoining lots, mortgaged under one deed. The
town/county bills them separately, under separate lot #s and at separate
tax rates ( one lot has year-round home, the other as a seasonal residence)

I wish to sell off the secondary lot. Thanks to an inflated R/E market the
proceeds of the sale would pay off my mortgage completely.

What are the steps I need to be aware of to split the deed, And can I
do this myself. Assume I am an experienced technical writer/proof reader.

Thanks in advance
Mike D

nextwife

You now own two legally seperate tax parcels, originally conveyed to you on one deed? The mortgage covers both properties.

Simply identify to the title insurance company which of the two properties you are selling. Make certain they know it is "Lot X " ONLY, and not both properties shown on your vesting deed. Each one has a seperate legal description. The title insurance and deed will only show the one legal description, and, as you will be paying off the mortgage when you sell, you don't even need to bother arranging a "partial release" of the mortgage.

mpdsville1

followup: Splitting a deed

Thanks nextwife. I was under the impression I would need to
file separate deeds (Split the deed) for the two lots prior to selling.

If the sale price come in 10k less than the mortgage payoff, and I bring
in a lender for the 10k, does this change the scenario?

I've bought property, but never sold.

nextwife