• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Spousal support and step-children

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ljoan

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Michigan

I am beginning research related to a possible divorce and spousal support. I have been married for four years and lived together three years prior to marriage. During these seven years, my husband's two daughters, ages 9 and 13, have visited every other weekend. His ex-wife has primary custody. He pays approximately $700 per month in child support. He has some college and earns $40,000 per year (employed 6 years); I have a master's degree and earn $67,000 per year. I have a daughter but she is an adult. The primary reason for seeking a divorce is related to my husband's substance abuse (alcohol) and resulting financial hardship and stress because of alcohol-related incidences. A new home mortgage and down payment loans (no equity) as well as a loan for the truck he drives are in my name. He is unable to obtain a loan due to a bankruptcy.

My questions are these:
1) What part does the child support play in determining income balancing i.e. spousal support? (child support, his previous marriage)
2) What obligation do I have with the two step-children since my husband's income will be less after a divorce and his lifestyle will change somewhat, and therefore, what he can provide his daughters.

tigger22472

Firstly your income should not have been figured for his child support anyways so that won't matter. You are not responsible for his children, nor do you need to worry how he supports them, that's his job.