• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding in Tennessee

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Subplotted

I am a resident of Ontario, Canada. Wasn't paying attention and the car got away from me on one of those Tennessee 5% grades Memorial Day - 92 in a 70 for a brief moment but of course the trooper was there at that moment. Wouldn't have hurt so much if I had really been trying to get somewhere in a hurry - or if the trooper had cut me a little bit of slack. So other than the ethical considerations - what can the state of Tennessee do to me if I choose not to pay?

Curt581

Subplotted said:
I am a resident of Ontario, Canada. Wasn't paying attention and the car got away from me on one of those Tennessee 5% grades Memorial Day - 92 in a 70 for a brief moment but of course the trooper was there at that moment. Wouldn't have hurt so much if I had really been trying to get somewhere in a hurry - or if the trooper had cut me a little bit of slack. So other than the ethical considerations - what can the state of Tennessee do to me if I choose not to pay?
Will they extradite you from Canada for a speeding ticket? No.

What they can do is throw your butt in jail the next time you're stopped in Tenessee. I know what you're thinking... but never say never. And those warrants do not go away.

Subplotted

I hear you. Just out of curiosity, though - presumably a warrant is issued in Tennessee if I fail to pay or show up in court. If I was caught in another US state, would it show up there and would they be able to make an arrest on behalf of Tennessee?

Labtec600

re