• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

insurance fraud

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

alaric

undefinedTexasWhat is the name of your state?Texas
I am a general contractor working on a home damaged by hail. The catastrophy adjuster that did the 1st assessment really shorted the client. We called for a reinspection and the home owner wanted me to deal w/adjuster. I went over all the damages, came to an agreement w/adjuster, submitted proposals to the insurance co. under my company name, now the home owner will not sign the proposals and is looking to find someone to do the work for less so he can pocket the extra money. Since the owner introduced me as his contractor and my com. letterhead was used to fax the proposals I feel that I was used to defraud the insurance com. since the owner should not be collecting the profit and overhead added to the proposals as per insurance regs. This being 29% for the sub contractor and an additional 20% for myself as the general contractor. Since he has represented to All State that I was the contractor and had me do all the negotiating and paperwork why should he be allowed to take the extra money for my proposed work and get another person or com. to do it for less without paying me anything? Help!!!!

claimlaw

You have learned a valuable lesson in dealing with insureds. If the additional proceeds that your expertise added to the claim were legitimate issues, there is no fraud. However, any contractor that participates in a sceme to convert proceeds of a structure loss back to the insured, commits insurance fraud.