• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Misdemeanor help plz

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

delovan

Clayton Georgia

Hi, i recently got arrested because i was stupid and went out to steal some items of 60$ value total. Could i please have some info on what i should do, what the judge will sentence me. This is my first time, and i'm 22. Thankyou verymuch for your time.

Happy Trails

delovan said:
Clayton Georgia

Hi, i recently got arrested because i was stupid and went out to steal some items of 60$ value total. Could i please have some info on what i should do, what the judge will sentence me. This is my first time, and i'm 22. Thankyou verymuch for your time.
What exactly did you do? Was it from a store? Someone's property?......

What is the charge you are being accused of doing?

Happy Trails

delovan said:
this was in Bestbuy store, shoplifting
Okay, from Georgia statutes:

17-10-3.
(a) Except as otherwise provided by law, every crime declared to be a misdemeanor shall be punished as follows:
(1) By a fine not to exceed $1,000.00 or by confinement in the county or other jail, county correctional institution, or such other places as counties may provide for maintenance of county inmates, for a total term not to exceed 12 months, or both;
(2) By confinement under the jurisdiction of the Board of Corrections in a state probation detention center or diversion center pursuant to Code Sections 42-8-35.4 and 42-8-35.5, for a determinate term of months which shall not exceed a total term of 12 months; or......