• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help-Can a CA Contractor be an LLC?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Wolfden

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? California

I'm an existing CA Contractor wanting to Incorporate.
Will do S corp or LLC
Cannot find any specific text on CSLB website or literature about LLCs.
They have no website email for questions, and no phone options to speak with a representative.

HELP - Can a California Contractor be an LLC?
Or must I go the S corp route.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Wolfden

Wolfden said:
What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? California

I'm an existing CA Contractor wanting to Incorporate.
Will do S corp or LLC
Cannot find any specific text on CSLB website or literature about LLCs.
They have no website email for questions, and no phone options to speak with a representative.

HELP - Can a California Contractor be an LLC?
Or must I go the S corp route.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Wolfden
I've been down this road, going from sole prop to inc. Unfortunately, the answer is no to the LLC. Here is a direct quote from the CSLB web site:

49. To whom is a license issued?

A license may be issued to an individual, a partnership, a corporation, or a joint venture. The license belongs to the owner of an individual license, to the partnership, to the corporation as it is registered with the California Secretary of State, or to the combination of licensees who are party to the joint venture. The CSLB does not issue licenses to Limited Liability Companies (LLC's).