• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Electrocution

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

badlands

What is the name of your state? Texas, I am a service tech I repair airconditioners,heaters ice machines,refrigeration and resturaunt equiptment,I have been doing so for 15 yrs,last week I was at a freinds parents resturaunt and they had a refrigerater that was not working it was a home type unit not commerical grade, I looked at it and found the power cord was chewed through by rats, I went to the hardware store and got a heavy up grade replacement cord and insalled it on the unit,I used UL listed butt connectors and tie wrapped the cord to the case so the repair could not be pulled lose as I have done many times in the past, I did not charge them for this repair, I have done work for them in the past and have gotten paid but not this time, a week went by and my freind called me and said that the refrigerater was not cooling and the side was hot, I told him to pull it away from the wall and I would look at it when I got out of work, he said that it had to be moved anyway because the store was closed for pest spraying, the pest guy found a dead rat under that same refrigerater and my freind reached in to remove it and got electrocuted and is now on deaths door, a local man who owns a hardware store and does some repair work around the area and is freinds with the people who own this resturaunt looked at the refrigerater and my repair and said that I had crimped the butt connectors to tight and some metal was showing and that is what caused my freind to get electrocuted, my question is can I be in any legal trouble for this?? and can the man that is saying this about me get in