• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

any help is appreciated

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

carol1206

What is the name of your state? NJ
I have been married for over 18 years (separated for the last 18 months). The marriage produced 3 children under the age of 18. I recently went through the courts for child support so that end is taken care of. My Union provides a small amount of free legal service but the lawyer is still asking for a $2500 retainer which I can't afford, to file the divorce papers. I have elected to wait the 18 months and then file on my own through the county court.

I have been working at the same job for over 5 years. Unfortunately I haven't been able to obtain a full time position since they are hard to come by (supermarket chain). Would I be eligible for alimony and how do I go about it? I'm trying to do most of this on my own and am overwhelmed at times. Thanks for any advice.

LdiJ

carol1206 said:
What is the name of your state? NJ
I have been married for over 18 years (separated for the last 18 months). The marriage produced 3 children under the age of 18. I recently went through the courts for child support so that end is taken care of. My Union provides a small amount of free legal service but the lawyer is still asking for a $2500 retainer which I can't afford, to file the divorce papers. I have elected to wait the 18 months and then file on my own through the county court.