• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

SF-86 Security Clearance Credit History

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Murdock_719

What is the name of your state? WV

I am currently filling out a SF-86 for an FBI contractor position. I obtained copies of all three of my credit reports and only had one minor delinquency (paid off).

Question 28 a) asks: In the last 7 years have you been over 180 days deliquency on any debt(s)? I answered yes stating the credit collection account and company.

Question 28 b) asks: Are you currenly over 90 days deliquent on any debt(s).

I want to be completly honest on my form and in the past my credit was not so good. In 1995/1996 I was a college student making less than $8,000/year. I racked up some debts that I was unable to pay. They consisted of one medical bill and three credit card debts (at least one of these cards was listed as a charge-off.)

In 2003 (after obtaining a position that was financially stable) I wanted to redeem myself financially so I obtained a copy of my credit report. I paid off the outstanding medical bill (from 1996). It no longer shows up on my report and I am unsure where to get the information on the debt (I don't have copies of any of the stuff since it went off my credit report I felt no need to keep them).