• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non Solicitation same as Non Compete

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wantadvicequick

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? CA
I am an IT consultant and I signed an agreement with a consulting company titled - Confidentiality and Non Solicitation agreement.
Is this the same as Non Compete? I understand the confidentiality part. The non solicit agreement part is quoted from the agreement as below --------
I understand that the company's ability to operate its business depends upon its ability to attract and retain skilled people, that the company invests and will continue to invest substantial resources in the training of its employees, and that candidates for employment having the same abilities, knowledge, and skills as those employed by the company may not be generally available in the market place. I agree, therefore, that for a period of one year immediately following my departure from the company, I will not - either myself or for any person or entity - encourage, solicit, or recruit any employee of the company to alter that employee’s relationship with the company.