• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mortgage Broker Problems With Title Company

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Marriagepact

Title Company Wants To Kick My A$$

What is the name of your state? Florida

I am a mortgage broker and 2 months ago I closed my first residential loan. About 1 month (Estimation) after that I heard from another broker, that helped me on the loan, say to the client "the title company owes you another $200".

Then just this weekend my boss told me that he is tired of the title company calling him and asking him to have me pay them $200 because they overpaid me. I guess they didnt want to ask me because they were scared of losing my business. So my boss told me to call them and take care of it. I said to my boss what if I dont want to pay. He said then dont pay.

So I called the closing agent at the Title Company. She said that what happened is that there was a loan origination fee in the second mortgage that should not have been there and it was charged to the clients and I was overpaid and now she wants me to pay the money back. Yes that is true I would never charge a client $200 for loan origination on the 2 mortgage. I told her first of all she would have to prove to me that thats what happened, second I got taxed on that money so if I paid them $200 I would lose money.