• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Title Company Wants to Kick My A$$

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Marriagepact

What is the name of your state? Florida

Im a mortgage broker and I closed a loan a few months ago. On the good faith estimate I did not put a $200 loan origination fee. I just found out that the lender messed up and put the fee in the HUD-1 and the client knows about it. The client wants his money back from whoever he can get it from. The Title company is demanding that I pay the $200 back to them and then they will give it to the borrower. I think the lender and the title company screwed up and showed pay for it. Am I liable because my processor signed off on the good faith estimate? Can I sue the Title company for illegally demanding money from me? Illegal creditor laws?

seniorjudge

...On the good faith estimate I did not put a $200 loan origination fee....

Okay, you got caught committing fraud.

What is your legal question for us?

HomeGuru

Marriagepact said:
What is the name of your state? Florida

Im a mortgage broker and I closed a loan a few months ago. On the good faith estimate I did not put a $200 loan origination fee. I just found out that the lender messed up and put the fee in the HUD-1 and the client knows about it. The client wants his money back from whoever he can get it from. The Title company is demanding that I pay the $200 back to them and then they will give it to the borrower. I think the lender and the title company screwed up and showed pay for it. Am I liable because my processor signed off on the good faith estimate? Can I sue the Title company for illegally demanding money from me? Illegal creditor laws?

**A: pay up.