• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

? about unemployment compensation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sashaannm

What is the name of your state? Florida

Hi,

I was "laid-off" from my job on 8-16-05. That was the last day I worked. Our payroll went in the following day. My ex-boss gave me 2 weeks severence pay, meaning I got paid as though I worked thru 8-30-05. I already filed my initial claim for unemployment. I called the unemployemt agency and asked them when I could file my weeks (I have never done this before) and the guy said that since I was getteing severence pay, to not even claim my weeks yet cause they wldnt pay me. Im so confused. I have no idea what Im doing. I have been looking for work, and been on a cpl of interviews. I got a job offer thru a staffing agency, but as Im in the middle of buying a house (was already doing this before I lost my job) the finance company will not take a staffing agency as "verifiable employment". Also with the staffing agency, I would not be eligible for any type of benefits untile after 6 months. I need to have insurance within the next 4 months because of a medical condition I have to have taken care of. I dont know whether or not I should just take this job or keep looking for one that will give me what I need. The WC says you cant refuse a suitable job offer. How do they know if I have refused a job offer? If I dont put it down on my form as one of the places I have contacted?? PLEASE help, Im driving myself insane!!!
Thank you!

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Okay, first of all, take a deep breath and calm down. This is nowhere near as difficult as you're trying to make it. :)