• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongful Termination ?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tcbr

What is the name of your state? PA
I am a travel nurse employed in a PA Hospital. I work through a national agency whose local office is in NY.

I called in Ill reporting to the charge RN that I had suffered a Blood clot in my leg earlier that week and was given a return to work date of Sept 7.

I missed one day and returned to work the day following calling in.

That night I was seen in the Emergency Room where I was employed for complications of the blood clot. While in the ER being seen, I received a cell call from my NY employment agency stating that they had heard a rumor that I was ill with a blood clot in the leg.

After discharge I took my Return to work papers to the nurse manager. I asked her how my Agency found out this information. She stated that she told the nurse recruiter this and she called them.

I confirmed this with my Agency. Stating they received the call the day I called in ill rather than the day that I was seen In their ER. I complained to administration that the information regarding my blood clot should have stopped at the nurse manager.
I feel that they should not have told my agency as that was my responsibility not theirs and therefore a HIPPA violation.

I received a phone call from my agency later that afternoon stating that the hospital had fired me citing poor documentaion of nurses notes calling in ill, expressing disatisfaction for being pulled to a different ICU that night.

pojo2