• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

billing for legal services when not a lawyer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Fulcrum_Design

What is the name of your state? Connecticut
I am a business consultant and many times I have to research state and federal statues and regulations as part of my service, which I bill for. I am not a lawyer by the way.

My question is a general one, is it illegal for me to bill for "paralegal" or "legal" services even though I am not a lawyer or a paralegal? I am not pretending to be a lawyer but at times I am asked to research and give my opinion on regulatory or legal matters impacting a business operation. Of course I recommend my clients to follow up with thier attorneys but many times it just requires a lot of research and following up with the appropriate authorities, many of whom are attornys.
My invoice stated something like this:
Paralegal services for researching and reviewing Civil Right Act of 1969
Drafting purchase agreement
Representing client at zoning and hearing.

From time to time I am required to investigate state and federal laws and regulations depending on the industry I am representing, does this mean I can't bill for these services or should I be using different language?
Thank you

CO19

Fulcrum_Design said:
What is the name of your state? Connecticut

I am not pretending to be a lawyer but at times I am asked to research and give my opinion ..