• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Not allowing me to work and taking my days

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

KCinTX

What is the name of your state? Texas

I work as a teacher in Texas and injured my knee Monday during class. I realized that the pain and swelling weren't improving and after work Tuesday I visited a doctor who requested an MRI and cleared me for work with a few minor restrictions. I turned in my WC claim that listed the doctors notes and follow up appt which was two and a half weeks away. I was then told that I had to go home and could not be at work since I had restrictions. I explained that I was following the guidelines the doctor gave me but was told that I could not return to work until I was 100% cleared.

I was also told that WC will not kick in until I am out seven days. The first seven days will be deducted from my personal and sick days.

Does it sound right that they are not allowing me to come to work even though the doctor said I could work with restrictions? Does it sound right about them decucting my days before WC kicks in?

tjr5150

Yes they can make you use your sick day or vacation time for your waiting period.. Also yes there is a waiting period for your claim..

Beth3

Does it sound right that they are not allowing me to come to work even though the doctor said I could work with restrictions? Whether or not it's right is a matter of opinion. What matters is that it's legal. If they don't wish to allow you to return to work until your restrictions are lifted, they may.

Does it sound right about them decucting my days before WC kicks in? Yes. That's why you have sick days.

KCinTX