• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Where do I begin with my Great Idea?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

Mhami

I have an idea for a computer program that I would like create and sell. Actually, I would need to hire someone to create it for me as I do not have the skills to create the program. I am at a loss as to where to begin this process.

From the research that I have done, I don't think that I can copyright my idea without having the actual program. I can't create the program without discussing my idea with outside sources (such as a programmer, my data sources, etc). I am afraid if I discuss my idea with to many people, someone may take the idea and use it themselves.

Can anyone offer input as to how to get the ball rolling? I actually have the idea started as an Excel file. Would that be something that I can copyright? I just don't know where to begin.

Marianne

ALawyer

Patent protection is available for truly unique computer programs. But not for pure "ideas". Patents can be relatively expensive and require a patent lawyer first to search (is it unique, did someone else patent it or something similar, is is common knowledge among software professionals and thus unpatentable) which is not major expense, and then to prosecute.

Read the section on Patents on FreeAdvice.com.

M

Mhami