• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

need advice on possible fraud

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

KAM24

i purchased a car and 4 months later i was told to bring the car back because they had to do inventory on it. And i called the financed company and they said that they never financed me but when i registered and insured my vehicle their name was on my papers. I wanted to know what should i do to find out if it was fraud on the dealerships behalf or what.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Hmmm, sounds like money laundering and fraud.

How do you find out? Are you worried about clear title to your car? Are you worried this is a stolen vehicle? Are you worried about registration issues, etc. Car payment history? Who are you paying? The dealership or this finance company?

You need to provide details. BUt I think at this point, it is safe to say you should speak with an attorney (transactional or criminal) and see what they have to uncover.

Try attorneypages.com or call your state bar association and ask for lawyer referral.

K

KAM24

thanks for your reply

i have filed a suit against the dealership myself because the attorney's that i talk to said i should go to small claims court first, and if i need there help after that to contact them then. i really appreciate your advice thank you and sorry i replied so late.

T

TimC