• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question regarding modified duty

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mixuone

What is the name of your state? Massachusetts

I fell while carrying a computer at work back in May and injured my left hand. I was only out for a few days and went back to work. I spent the next 4 months going to the doctors recommended by the occupational Health Dept where I work, but they really didn't do much to help with my injury. I finally started going to my own doctor who recommended PT and OT and told me that I couldn't use my left hand for anything. I am a Computer Systems Administrator, which requires lots of typing and lifting so this was impossible. My company finally told me that I should go out on Worker's Comp until my hand healed because the pain just got progressively worse and I have been out for three weeks now. My question has to do with modified duty and what happens if my injury has caused permenant or long term damage to my hand and I can not go back to my old position for an extended period of time. I know they only have to hold my position for three months according the the FMLA, but what happens after that? I'm worried that my career may be over since it's already been over five months and there is not any improvement in my hand. Thanks for any advice.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl