• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

searches

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

capezio

I would like to know if it is legal to be strip searched
before being read your Miranda rights. Also I was forced to a counselling center by a friend and they called the police and had me arrested for intoxication. I was non confrontational, they just did not know what to do with me. Is this legal? and does it break doctor/patient confidentiality laws? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Obviously there is a lot more to this story than meets the eye. Strip searches prior to arrest aren't usually done nor are they usually valid.

Were you in an airport by chance?

I think you should take this to a licensed attorney in your state to go over all issues. Try attorneypages.com or call your state bar association.

C

capezio

Illegal Search

I had been drinking and was depressed and was forced to go to the mental health counseling center by a friend. They said the hospital would not take me and called the police. I was taken to jail and when they went to take my fingerprints I asked them if I was being arrested. They said yes, for intoxication. I said "Don't you have to read me my rights?" and the police officer replied "I don't have to read you anything, but here's the first line. "You have the right to remain silent."