• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Accedently broke a friends laptop

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Dman4585

I am from Massachusetts.
Hey, I'm not sure if this is in the right section as it's my first time posting here, but here's my question. I was hanging out in one of my friends dorm room last night and was sitting on the side of his desk because there was no where else to sit. There was an open beer bottle on the desk which wasn't mine, sitting next to his laptop. As I was getting up I must have grazed the bottle and it spilled over onto his laptop. He turned it off as quickly as he could, but apparently it's now dead. Now he is threatening to sue me for the damages. Does he have a case against me? It was a total accident, and the bottle knocked over wasn't mine, I didn't put it there. Now he says he will not speak to me until he talks to a lawyer. Any advice?

HomeGuru

Dman4585 said:
I am from Massachusetts.
Hey, I'm not sure if this is in the right section as it's my first time posting here, but here's my question. I was hanging out in one of my friends dorm room last night and was sitting on the side of his desk because there was no where else to sit. There was an open beer bottle on the desk which wasn't mine, sitting next to his laptop. As I was getting up I must have grazed the bottle and it spilled over onto his laptop. He turned it off as quickly as he could, but apparently it's now dead. Now he is threatening to sue me for the damages. Does he have a case against me? It was a total accident, and the bottle knocked over wasn't mine, I didn't put it there. Now he says he will not speak to me until he talks to a lawyer. Any advice?