• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Trying to raise funds for my photo business

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jason in LA

What is the name of your state? CA

I just started a business two months ago, and it's doing well. I'm a sports photograher. I've been shooting for a small company for five years. We shoot team pictures and action shots for little league baseball, Pop Warner football, and soccer. After five years of working for $15 an hour on Saturdays, I decided to sign up my own leagues. I put $1500 down on photo equipment, and I have been shooting action photos for football. So far I've brought in about $6,000. Football has been good, but next fall I'm going to shoot soccer instead. It will make twice the money that football makes, and it's easier to shoot and sell the photos.

Baseball season is coming up in about 4 months. Baseball is a cash cow. Football brings up about $1200-$1800 a Saturday. Baseball brings in $3,000-$5,000. Easier to shoot, easier to sell, and way more games. But baseball takes a lot more money to shoot. I need about $8,000 worth of equipment. I need to pay 4 photographers. I'll have to pay about $2,000 on the print job. A ton of money is going to come in, but I'll have to pay out a ton before I can make the money. I'm projecting at least $30,000 profit for the baseball season, and possibly up to $50,000. I already have a few leagues lined up.