• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

"Let Go" because an investor didn't like me and in front of other employees/Florida

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ally2886

"Let Go" because an investor didn't like me and in front of other employees/Florida

I have been working in a restaurant in Florida for the past 7 months. I have been working since I was 15 and homeschooled. But I have always been told by past employers how nice I am to work with. I am kind of shy and not a loud person. At this job we used to have a questionaire that customers filled out and I always got compliments from my customers. I have never been complained about by anyone. I also go to cosmotology school full time besides working and I am a hard worker. Last night, after I completed my shift and the restaurant had closed, the night manager was laughing and told us all to come around him. We all thought he had good news for us. Instead he told us that sales were way down and an investor had come in the other day and told the owners he did not like myself and another new girl and to let us go. Then he said that the others needed to learn from this and get their butts in gear or they would be fired too. Then he told us to leave. Now is this legal? One can they fire us becasue someone did not like us? We obviously are not the cause of the bad sales.. the customers always complain the food is awful or cold and well it is. They even stopped letting customers fill out the survey forms because there was so many complaints about the food ands they didn't want the investors to see them. But is this wrongful firing and is it legal to fire us in front of other employees. I was so upset and crying as I had just be