• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Seatbelt Law Medical Exemption not accepted by police.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mooman

What is the name of your state? Michigan

I have a medical exemption from wearing my seatbelt due to a shoulder condition. My exemption was issued in California by a certified physician. I am a Michigan resident. Recently I was pulled over and the police issued me a ticket saying that he felt funny about accepting my exemption because the doctor was "so far away and this looks like it comes from off the internet". I have a laminated card with all the info and my doctors signature as well as his information where he practices in California and Washington. I was under the impression that states recognized each others doctors in this sense. Reciprocity of that type has always been just understood I thought. I am fighting this ticket but would love some input before I go to court. Thanks.

rmet4nzkx

mooman said: