• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired because they don't want to be sued for racial discrimination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

alleycatsvb

What is the name of your state?Question from Florida. I am a Property Manager for large corp. Long and successful 30 yr career Never had any problems. Took new job and began evaluating the current employees took steps to have head maint. man terminated due to poor performance, documented numerous examples of this over several weeks. I am a white woman, he is a black man. When he found out, he filed a compaint against me that I had racially discr.. against him by calling him a name. He made several inapp. comments to me, threatening, which I reported. During all this the company sold to larger corp. Today I was fired after HR came in from new owners and said they had 3 other black men on main. staff back up his story. They are all friends. This is absolutely untrue. They told me it had nothing to do with my performance it was that they could not take a chance of this man suing them. Told me they believed me but could not take a chance on being sued, also told me not to take it personally!!! I offered to take a polygraph, pay for them to take polygraph and had several people working for me, black and white, to speak on my behalf, that I have never behaved in a racist way or discriminated against anyone, they said no to all. I feel the man retaliated against me for taking steps to have him fired by filing this false charge, is there anything I can do??

BelizeBreeze

alleycatsvb said: