• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hostile Work Environment?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tzenith

What is the name of your state? Oregon

My husband and I were recently terminated from our company. I am a Software Project Manager and he is a Senior Software Engineer. I work very closely with my husband's department and manage the projects within that department.

Recently the company hired an experienced developer to work with us. There have been an inordinate amount of upheavals in this company. A lot of unhappy employees, so in small groups the developers have each said things about the employer in order to blow off steam. Recently, this new employee sent an electronic memo to the CEO and President stating that my husband and I were planning on taking intellectual property from the company and starting our own venture (completely untrue). This employee also told the CEO and President about a lot of other conversations that were held, but embellished on them extraordinarily (I never saw the email but was told about it verbally in bits and pieces).