• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongful termination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mosby

State of Michigan. I work as a Physician Assistant (PA) in the ICU of a large hospital and although I work under the supervision of several ICU Physicians, I am employed by the hospital. On Dec. 2nd (Friday) from 2-3 pm I was called in to a meeting with one of the ICU physicians along with a Human Resources rep. and was told that I was being terminated from my position, but they were giving me the option to resign instead. Furthermore, I had to give them my decision by Monday. The physician provided me with a memo and told me to sign, before I had a chance to read the memo, and he stated that by signing I was only acknowledging receipt but not agreeing with the content of the memo. The memo was comprised of many different reasons for their decision to terminate and they were inaccurate. Most of their reasons centered around the general idea that I was not as efficient or experienced as my coworkers. They even claimed to have documented complaints against me from the nursing staff, however, I was never notified of this documentation against me and they refused to let me see the complaints or share specifics with me. The HR rep also explained that she was required to report this to the Michigan PA licensing board even if I chose the resignation option.

It should be noted that there have never been any questions regarding the appropriateness or safety of my patient care and management.