• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

need help please

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

meababy

What is the name of your state? ca.
hi i need some help. a good friend of mine took out a loan at one of those cash advance places. soon after she got laid off and ran into serious financial problems. she explained to them she would pay as much as she could as soon as she could . i tried to help her out as much as i could but i am a student on a limited budget. she got her balance down to 90.00 . she cant pay any more right now, the cash advance place told her she took to long to pay them back.they told her today the matter is being fowarded over to the district attorney for check fraud, they told her she is going to jail!!!!!. what can she do , she is a single mom are they going to put her in jail. im am heartbroken i dont know what to do. we dont know anything about the law. will she really be thrown in jail.

CdwJava

They are almost certainly blowing smoke. These businesses enter in to civil contracts and take civil actions against deadbeats. the police will not touch this unless intentional fraud can be proven. The fact that they had agreed to a payment plan is almost a guarantee that the police would blow this off as a civil matter.

She should get a hold o fthe last $90 and finish the matter to avoid further problems. But I seriously doubt that criminal charges are forthcoming.

However, most DA's offices do have "bad check" restitution programs, so THAT may be what they were refering to. Though these almost never go

- Carl

outonbail

Your post is confusing. You stated your friend "took out a loan from one of those cash advance places"