• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Repercussions from a DWI arrest

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

briant

What is the name of your state?TX
Hi,
I am a teacher/coach at a north TX public middle school. I was arrested while in college (about 5 years ago) for DWI, but the charges were lessened and I pleaded guilty to "Criminal Mischief."

My problem is that, as a coach, I am expected to get a CDL to haul the kids to athletic events. My district, however, won't let me get one because of the arrest. I certainly understand that w/ a DWI conviction there would be a problem. Not only w/ insurance, but parents would raise hell if they knew. But I wasn't convicted of DWI, just the Criminal Mischeif.

The district knew that I had the offense when they hired me, and I don't think that I'll be fired because of it (I grew up here and know many of the administrators/teachers and I'm also a good teacher.) Just curious as to why I can't get a CDL if I was never convicted of a driving offense.

I don't even hardly drink anymore, and I certainly don't drive after even one drink. The whole thing really woke me up back when it happened. Haven't even been in a wreck or got a ticket since then.

What I am really asking is why am I being punished for a crime that I was not convicted of? Is this standard procedure?

If you could shed some light on the situation I would appreciate it.

Thank you,
Brian

Kane