• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help: what to say/where to look

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Alan3322

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?Hello Everyone,

(Note: I am new to this forum and am not sure if this post is in the right place. Hopefully someone can help me. To any moderators: If this post is in the wrong place and you guys are strict about that kinda thing, feel free to move it.)

My Situation:

I am a student, currently attending a small private college located in Rockland County, New York.

I live in one of the residence halls on campus. Over the last three months, there have been a number of thefts of student's belongings, only in this particular building, totaling to more than $10,000 worth of property, mostly personal electronics and computer equipment.

Everything that's missing has been taken from student's dorm rooms. Nearly all of the rooms have been locked during the thefts and there have not been any instances of forced entry. It is an old building, the doors are poorly fitted, and anyone can open any room in less than a second using a credit card.

Anyway, about a week ago, a $250 MP3 player was stolen from my room. (Ironically, this happened during an all hall meeting about the thefts.) Both my door and window were locked at the time. There was nothing that I could have done to prevent the theft through, as my locks had the same vulnerability as everyone else's.