• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wage/Gender Discrimination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

harveyb

I currently work within a male dominated environment as one of two females. My position essentially requires that I manage one of the services our company provides which includes intensive client interaction, development of client materials, and assurance of satisfaction. The client satisfaction I've generated has also lead to referrals and ultimately, additional revenue. I've discovered that a male colleague is making double (hourly) of what I'm making for entry-level tasks and daily lunch with the boss. He only has a high school diploma; I have a college degree. Also, I was put on salary to compensate me for a full 40 hour week after a commission-based income. Now that my salary has been implemented, my boss has not only tried to increase my work load, but implies that I should be working overtime to fulfill other duties outside of the 40 hour work week to "earn" my salary. I've also discovered that he offered to compensate another male colleague for any extra responsibilities he should fulfill in my boss's absence. There have been other instances of overt favoritsm but I'm not sure if they constitute unlawful discrimination. Is what he's doing illegal?

C

codderkate

similar circumstances