• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What do I need?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tigger22472

I am an independent contractor with a newspaper company.

Taxes are not taken from my checks.

I have most.. of my check stubs (but not sure I have them all; I'm better organized now then the beginning).

I know I can deduct certain things like my car payment, insurance, gas, and even my cell phone but what do I need to take to file my taxes?

Do I have to take every statement from my insurance co. for the year? All gas reciepts and statements of other things?

LdiJ

tigger22472 said:
I am an independent contractor with a newspaper company.

Taxes are not taken from my checks.

I have most.. of my check stubs (but not sure I have them all; I'm better organized now then the beginning).

I know I can deduct certain things like my car payment, insurance, gas, and even my cell phone but what do I need to take to file my taxes?

Do I have to take every statement from my insurance co. for the year? All gas reciepts and statements of other things?
You should get a 1099 from the newspaper company. That verifies your gross income.

The appropriate way to handle transportation expenses is by mileage rather than by actual expenses...why?..because mileage takes into consideration wear and tear on the vehicle rather than pure expenses.

For 2005 the mileage rate is 40.5 cents per mile for mileage prior to 9/1/2005, and 48.5 cents for mileage after 9/01/2005. Unfortunately, I doubt if you kept a proper mileage log.

However, if you have a fixed route it may be possible to safely recalculate your mileage for the year.

Go see a professional tax preparer, preferibly an enrolled agent.