• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

innocent byparker

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gleonard9

My car was totalled when it was hit while parked. I fear my insurance company will not come close to what I feel is Fair Market Value when considering recent upgrades to the car in spite of it's high mileage. Is my next step appealing to the other driver's insurance company? Can I threaten to take them to small claims court? Should I appeal directly to the driver with a threat to go to small claims court? The difference in value is about $1200.

This incident occured in PA, the faulty driver is a PA resident, I am a DE resident.

Thank you.

JETX

gleonard9 said:
My car was totalled when it was hit while parked. I fear my insurance company will not come close to what I feel is Fair Market Value when considering recent upgrades to the car in spite of it's high mileage.
EXACTLY what 'upgrades' are you talking about?? And how much??

Is my next step appealing to the other driver's insurance company? Can I threaten to take them to small claims court? Should I appeal directly to the driver with a threat to go to small claims court?
You can do any of the above... or none of them.

gleonard9

I had $900 of work done 2 weeks prior to the incident which included 4 new tires, a brake job & a repair to the gas line. Also had transmission replaced at 99,000 miles and have put only 40,000 miles on since. I'm comparing my car's fair market value to a car with 40,000 miles on it as opposed to it's actual mileage of 139,000.

Thank you for the reply.

You Are Guilty

gleonard9 said: