• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I'm a concerned land owner and farmer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rocarpen

What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania
I have a problem with my township supervisors. I am a six generation farmer on this farm.A township road with a right of way of 33 total feet in width runs the entire width of my farm which is 4000 feet wide. I have maple sap trees on each side of the road in question. These trees have been there since 1850. These supervisors think the road needs to be wider and i say it don't. Well, they had some lawyer come to our last township meeting. He plainly told me that the township has maintaned this right of way for over twenty one years and under (adverse possession) they could do just about what they wanted. I strongly disagree. Thanks for whatever you can tell me in this manner. Roger

seniorjudge

rocarpen said:
What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania
I have a problem with my township supervisors. I am a six generation farmer on this farm.A township road with a right of way of 33 total feet in width runs the entire width of my farm which is 4000 feet wide. I have maple sap trees on each side of the road in question. These trees have been there since 1850. These supervisors think the road needs to be wider and i say it don't. Well, they had some lawyer come to our last township meeting. He plainly told me that the township has maintaned this right of way for over twenty one years and under (adverse possession) they could do just about what they wanted. I strongly disagree. Thanks for whatever you can tell me in this manner. Roger