• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

employer harassment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

lisaq

I was a waitstaff manager until 2 days ago. My general managers fiance was at one time a waitstaff manager, but is now a server. I started as a part-time server and was promoted to manager 6 months ago. Two weeks ago my manager asked me to hire his daughter as server. She had worked there in the past as a busser and a hostess. I hired and trained her as a server. She came in to work an hour late during her second week of work. I told her when she walked in the door that she was an hour late and I needed her on the floor. I was called into the office 2 days later and was told that it was "OK" for me to be a "bitch" but I took it a step to far. I was also told that the other servers were calling his fiance and complaining about me. He would not tell me about the specifice complaints when I asked. My thought on that is that I can not improve my skills if I do not know what I have done wrong. In the past if the servers complained to me I would take them into the office and talk to them until we come to a resolution.