• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

No answer to question.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

Sunni

I'm still trying to find answers to questions asked on 12/07, several have read question, but no answers. Even an opinion would be better than nothing, someone, please, has to have a clue if a mechanic's lien on a seized vehicle has any bearing on what happens to that lien, and that vehicle.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Mechanic's Lien:

The Mechanic's Lien
In most states the shop obtains a mechanic's lien on your car, which helps the shop secure payment for the work done. For example, if you have authorized extensive work, but decide that the car isn't worth that much after the shop completes the work and refuse to pay for completed repairs, the shop may keep your car. The car's actual value, and the actual cost of the repairs, do not matter. If you abandon your car in this manner, the shop may ultimately sell your car so that it can recover as much of the cost of repairs as possible. But note that in states that require written estimates and repair authorization, the mechanic's lien does not attach if the repair shop has not complied with these requirements. In such states, you are entitled to ask a court to order the car returned to you.

http://consumer.pub.findlaw.com/newcontent/consumerlaw/chp9_g_3.html

T

TimC

My father has obtained several vehicles with mechanics liens on them, as he owned his own repair shop.