• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Contractor seeks advice for deadbeat client

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

joelog

CT

Hi, I'm a paint contractor insured in CT, but was hired to paint a home in NY. The client (general contractor) paid most of the bill, but still has an outstanding balance of $2,000. He's claiming because I don't carry workmans compensation in NY he shouldn't pay me the balance because of tax reasons.

Do I have a case here and if so how would I go about taking him to court? I do not have a signed agreement, but do have pictures and the homeowners have said they are very pleased with the work and even offered to recomend me in the future.

Thank you in advance for reading this, and of cours any help you can convey.

Joe

PS- if it went to court, is it possible to have the homeowner,s subpoenaed to appear for this type of thing? I'm thinking if he knew I was goiing to contact them he would pay the balance.What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?

I am just trying to bump you up for the real experts on this kind of situation. You see it does seem to me that if he paid for a portion of your bill he can't really argue out of paying the residual for some bogus reason.

Let us hope this bumps you up, there are some good lawyers around here, but because of that they have clients on the outside and can't put as much time in here.

BL

joelog said:
CT