• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Shady Customer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Infinity

What is the name of your state? Florida

I am a pool contractor In the state of Florida. A builder hired my company to build a pool for his personal home. He signed a basic contract with my company with a draw schedule of 10% down 40% - on first stage 40% on second stage and 10% on last stage. I completed first stage in which I used sub-contractors. He paid a trade rate to the subcontractors and then refused to pay the draw schedule. I believe he used our company to take advatage of out contacts. He then Fired us off the job and re permitted the job in his own name. There was no workmanship dispute, He refused to pay and I said fine I would lien his property. He has sent me an attorney letter requesting his depost returned and claimed job abandonment.

I have a signed contract with his signiture on it. Does he have a leg to stand on in court? The contract is a basic consumer construction contract stating our liabilitys and allows cancelation before construction begins.

Thank you for any response

lwpat

Everything depends on the wording of the contract and exactly what transpired that is in writing and you can prove. Generally, his failure to pay for the completion of the first stage is a breach of the contract and releases you from continuing with the project. You can collect the profit you expected to make on the project. Retain a construction attorney and have him review your paperwork.

slhalufska

Infinity,